Middle, high school students selected for Lexington Two Honors Band

WEST COLUMBIA, SC – Nearly 70 middle and high school musicians have been selected for the 2022-2023 Lexington Two Honor Band.


It’s the Honor Band’s fourth year for middle school students, who auditioned for a seat and will now have the opportunity to work with Daryl Byrd, band director at Crayton Middle School and the Richland 1 lead band director.


Honor Band is in its first year for high school students, who were recommended by their directors to participate. Students will get to work with Christie Hodge, the middle and high school band director for Ware Shoals School District 51. 


A combined performance of the Lexington Two Honor Band will be held at 6 p.m. Friday, March 31 in the historic Brookland-Cayce High School auditorium. 


Middle School Honor Band 


Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Daysha Belton, flute; Nathan Boulet and Averie Bailey, clarinet; Jamila Mohamed, Mackenna Maddox, Elijah Dalencourt, alto saxophone; J'Shon Moore, tenor saxophone; Preston Hamlet, baritone saxophone; Alex Neal, trumpet; Kyle Skidmore, baritone; Antwan Cray, Ra'Zel Thornton, tuba; Andrew Thompson, DeAndre Thompson, percussion

Fulmer Middle: Geo (Jade) Jackson, flute; McKenzie Beamer, Nevaeh Williams, Bianca Adams, clarinet; Dialan Alvarez, alto saxophone; Aubrey Kibitlewski, French horn; Lincoln Pettus, Givyn Dyer, baritone; Jonathan Reyes, trombone; JR Wingard, Madison Zeruth, percussion

Northside Middle: Arwyn Simmons, clarinet; Chris Webb, tenor saxophone; Ashilee Harrison, baritone; Bryce Loughery, percussion

Pine Ridge Middle: Caelyn Sligh and Melina Andres Lorenzo, flute; Abigail Murillo, clarinet; Sonia Robinson Riley, trombone; Christopher Juarez Gallardo, percussion


High School Honor Band 


Airport High: Jonas Shealey, clarinet; Gavin Pareja, bass clarinet; Stephanie Gonzalez, Mackenzie Burns, alto saxophone; Grace Lemke, tenor saxophone; Ethan Jeffcoat, Kelby Kenner, trumpet; Allicen Caulder, Marleen Reyes-Cruz, French horn; Elijah Price, Marvin Dyer, trombone; Mark Smith, baritone; Johnny Bautista, tuba; Mike Slocum, Jeremy Epperson, Hannah Harmening, percussion

Brookland-Cayce High: Ke'Sean Palmer, Andrew Roberts, flute; Jayson Mikkelson, oboe; James Rougeau, clarinet; Sawyer Redd, Charlie Balkema, Vanessa Belteton, Ryan Knight, Christopher Van Dyke, alto saxophone; Alexander Latham, Donovan Norris, tenor saxophone; 

Alexis Ramirez, baritone saxophone; Keegan Covington, trombone; William Bautista, 

Jorge Romero-Vargas, Nathaniel Brazell, Xander Derrick, Kenneth Carmichael, percussion; 

McKenzie Boatwright, piano