26 eighth-graders named SC Junior Scholars

WEST COLUMBIA, SC -- Twenty-six Lexington Two middle school students have been named South Carolina Junior Scholars.

The program, developed by the state Department of Education, identifies eighth-graders with high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability through testing and other criteria, offering summer opportunities through South Carolina colleges and universities, according to the department website.

Among the Junior Scholars announced in Lexington Two:

Busbee Creative Arts Academy: Rylee Burr

Fulmer Middle: Jackson Bouknight, Arthur Kaminski, Chase Keisler, Sally Skinner

Pine Ridge Middle: Tiffany Lin, Jillian Jacques. Jordan Jacques, Jennifer Hughes

Northside Middle:  Ainsley Allen, Joshua Arega, Abigail Boone,  Luke Carroll,  Cassie Drew,  Zachary Garrison, Cole Geyer, Macy Giles, Bruce Powers, Chaz Pierce,  Sydney Springs,  Chloe Sturkie,   Tara O’Toole,   Kaia Vega,   Jackson Ward, Katelyn Welch, Dylan Whitman

Lexington Two students will be recognized at an awards ceremony at 6:15 p.m. Thursday, April 19, before the monthly Board of Trustees meeting. The event will be at the District Education Center, 715 Ninth St.